So this is the New Year…

I just have to say that I love that song and every New Year I sing it to myself.  I’ve decided to make some resolutions for myself, if you will.  I like to think of them more as tweaks and plans to help me enjoy life more. 

One of my absolute favorite quotes is:

“In a world where you can be anything be yourself.” 

Well, I haven’t felt like I’ve been being myself.  I feel like I’m stuck in a cycle of making excuses and some days I see myself being more bitter than happy which is never a good thing.  I find myself trapped in what ifs, pity and sometimes resentment.  It’s not a good fit for me and my family. 

This year I resolve to teach myself that I am perfect, my family is perfect and our situation(s) with life are indeed perfect. 

To help myself I outlined some goals and here is the reason for all of this…

SIMPLIFY

Our home

_ Clean and organize home office

_ Clean and organize front porch into play center

_ Clean and organize basement

_ Create craft center in basement

Our finances

_ Automate ALL of our bills

_ Setup ING online savings

  1. Emergency Fund
  2. Tattoo
  3. Camera

_ Cut back on thoughtless/impulse spending

_ Eliminate half our debts (not including mortgage)

IMPROVE/DEVELOP CAREER

Write, read and share more

_ Monthly freelance article(s)

_ 2-3 blog posts per week

Take a class (or classes)

_ Communication/Writing

_ Marketing

_ Design

_ Programming

Grow Diaper Parties business

_ One party per month

_ One expo per year

_ Monthly guest posting for promotion

HAVE FUN

_Craft more (in organized craft center!)

_Get tattoo (with ING savings!)

_Do more activities with the family

LIVE HEALTHY

_Limit soda to one a week

_Walk more (especially with J)

_Laugh more, love more, be present, be authentic 🙂

I’m sure I’ll come back to add, delete and move things around. But, it’s a start. I don’t resolve to do everything at once and I don’t even know if I’ll accomplish everything that I “want” because life always has different plans that come up.

My number one goal for myself in 2011 is NO MORE EXCUSES for not living and enjoying the life that I currently have. No more what ifs only what is

Do you have any resolutions or goals for yourself?  Why did you decide on your resolution/goal?  How do you plan on accomplishing it/them?

5 Comments

Filed under Life

5 responses to “So this is the New Year…

  1. I had an argument with my husband. It was about parenting and discipline and “what if our son does this” and “how will we teach him that”. I wanted to buy a book about natural parenting and discipline and he wondered why I needed a book to be natural. “Why can’t we just be happy?” he asked and it felt so right. So from now on I decided to be happy. That’s my resolution.

  2. I think that’s a great resolution and your husband made a fantastic point. I think so often we get swept up in how we’re “supposed” to do things that we spend more time going back and fourth over what is “right” instead of just going with what is in us. One of my favorite daily reads is The Daily Groove because it really helps me get into a different mind set without really telling me how to parent. A lot of times it just helps you see things from a different perspective like your husband did.

    I think we all need to be reminded now and then that it’s not the end result that we need to focus on, it’s the journey. Parenting is a journey and we need to be happy with who we are, who our children are, how our lives are NOW and it will all fall in place in the end.

  3. I have subscribed to The Daily Groove. Thank you for the link, it is indeed inspiring.

  4. Pingback: April Showers Bring Renewed Senses | Halfway Crunchy

Leave a Reply

